Banana Nut Muffins Layered with Chocolate

I woke up this morning to the smell of a freshly baked banana cake. Well, actually, I woke up to my little brother asking me about his signed forms and THEN I noticed the cake. That’s a little bit more realistic, huh? I got up and went to the kitchen for my morning cup of water and alas, right there on the table was a delicious pan of banana cake. Did I get to eat any of it? No. There was a little note beside it that said “Please do not eat! This is for Alvin’s class.” It was very saddening actually. Why didn’t my mom make two? There were enough bananas to make more! Haha!

I went back to sleep because staying awake at 7 in the morning served me no purpose at all whatsoever. The second time I woke up was at 10 am. You know what happened? I woke up missing the banana cake that I never even got to eat. Haha! So I looked online for recipes.. A recipe with ingredients i had in my kitchen AND a good looking picture of the baked product? I think I found the one! This particular recipe didn’t call for a layer of chocolate in the middle, but it became the perfect base of this delicious dessert!

Three bananas in the kitcken? Check.

Time to experiment!


Ingredients:
3 mashed up ripe bananas
1/3 cup melted butter (which equals to 5 1/3 tsp)
3/4 cup of sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon of vanilla
1 teaspoon of cinnamon (optional)
1 teaspoon of baking soda
A pinch of salt
1 1/2 cup of flour
1 cup chopped walnuts (I used pecans because walnuts are so mainstream. Haha! I didn’t have any walnuts.)

Filling:
Delicious oodles of chocolate.

Tools:
Measuring cup
Spoon
A cupcake tray
Cupcake liners
A huge bowl
a mixer (optional)

Do you have all of these ingredients and things? Yes? Good!

Banana nut muffin ingredientsAssemble the troops! Or line up the victims? Which do you prefer? Chocolate and Measuring Cup were missing for this photo-op. They had other things to do.
Actually, I didn’t decide to add in the chocolate layer until after I finished mixing the ingredients together. :]

The Steps:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Mash up the potatoes in the big bowl if you haven’t already and add in the melted butter. (If you’re melting the butter in the microwave, remember to put it in there in short bursts, 10  to 15 seconds, and check it each time.)

Mix in the sugar3. Add the sugar, the egg, vanilla, and cinnamon.

4. Up next? the baking soda and the salt. (I used the mixer to evenly combine the ingredients.)

5. Add in the flour and continue mixing. You know when you’re done mixing when there aren’t any clumps of flour left. Those wouldn’t be so delicious.

Fold in pecans 6. Guess what time it is? The walnuts, or in my case the, pecans are up.

Melt chocolate

7. When that’s done, place a measuring cup full of yummy chocolate into a pot of water. Bring it to a boil while constantly stirring the chocolate until it’s melted. I added in a wee bit of milk because it was way too thick for my liking.

Pour into the tray

8. Spread the batter about 1/4 of the way up. I used a spoon to even it out. It’s a bit tough because the mix is thicker than, let’s say, a cake mix. Make sure you have enough left for the top layer.

Pour in the layer of chocolate 9. Pour in a thin layer of melted chocolate. You can tell I overdid it with the chocolate. I couldn’t help it! Plus, there was enough in the cup for another round. Oh man! That already looks delicious. No doubt I’m making this again. SOON!

Add the rest of the batter 10. Add the rest of the muffin mix on top. Try to cover the layer of chocolate with the help of a spoon. :] Even it out and don’t fill it all the way to the top. Give it a little room to expand.

Timer 25 - 30 minutes 11. Bake the muffins for about 25 to 30 minutes. Yes, that’s 25 to 30 minutes of continuous torture.

Cut out little messages 12. While they were in the oven, I decided to make little messages out of colored 1/2” x 2 1/2” printer paper. “Just for you” seems perfect, so that’s what I wrote. Leave enough room on the left to wrap around the toothpicks. :]

Glue the around toothpicks 13. Glue them around the toothpicks and wait for the muffins to finish.

Finished Product: Banana Nut Muffins Layered with Chocolate 14. Put them atop of these delectable treats and enjoy! :D

15. (Optional) Share.

HAHA! Or you can keep them all to yourself. <3
I hope you have a great Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

